Perpetual Motion for Marimba (Printed Music)


In stock


Perpetual Motion is a collection of ten evocative pieces for young marimbists to explore and enjoy. Each piece was conceived to focus on a particular technical requirement yet is also a complete piece of music in itself, which should be interpreted as a little sound story.

“I originally wrote this collection of 10 pieces for solo piano. I used to love playing collections of piano pieces for young people by composers such as Debussy, Tchaikovsky, Schumann, Corea and others. Several of these collections I have arranged for percussion. This gave me the inspiration to transcribe these pieces to mallet instruments.

All the pieces have technical challenges that will help young players develop co-ordination, balance of hands, stretching and stamina. However, each piece is a musical ‘story’. These stories can be developed in any way you wish by allowing your imagination and curiosity to take you on a journey of discovery!” – Dame Evelyn Glennie

  • Clockwork Chimes
  • Sleeping Snowman
  • The Lonely Traveller
  • Rustica Danza
  • Perpetual Motion
  • Courting Counting
  • Ghost Waltz
  • Toiling Lumberjacks
  • Restless
  • Snowflakes

You may also be interested in Perpetual Motion for piano (printed music) or Perpetual Motion (downloadable album)

You may also like…